Ex-London Mayor Boris Johnson not the next UK PM

30 June AtoZForex — Last week, after the historic results of the EU referendum were announced, David Cameron announced to resign his position as UK’s Prime Minister. In response, the analysts were convinced that the Ex-London Mayor Boris Johnson would become the UK prime minister. Considering that Boris Johnson has successfully led the “Leave” campaign and seemed to be ready for taking on the position.

However, this overall speculation of the market has abruptly ended today. As moments ago, the ex-London Mayor Boris Johnson announced to have pulled out of the race to become the next Conservative leader and UK prime minister.

Why did the Ex-London Mayor Boris Johnson give up?

Today, the Conservative MPs turned up at the St Ermine hotel with expectations to witness Boris Johnson’s plans to stand for the Tory leadership after the historic Brexit vote. However, in the recent news conference, the ex-London mayor Boris Johnson stunned the audience by revealing his unexpected plans to withdraw from the Conservative Leadership contest:

“I must tell you, my friends, you who have waited faithfully for the punchline of this speech, that having consulted colleagues and in view of the circumstances in parliament, I have concluded that person cannot be me.” 

It was all planned? Timing of Micheal Gove’s decision is questionable

Just before Boris Johnson stated his decision to pull out from the Conservative Leadership contest, Michael Gove announced to enter the race for the Tory leadership. The timing of Micheal Gove’s announcement is questionable, but was it all planned? Considering that in his speech, the previous education secretary from 2010 to 2015, stated that:

“I have come, reluctantly, to the conclusion that Boris cannot provide the leadership or build the team for the task ahead. I have, therefore, decided to put my name forward for the leadership.”

Who are still in the race for the UK’s leadership contest?

As the Ex-London Mayor Boris Johnson unexpectedly pulled out of the race for the Conservative leadership, five MPs will proceed with the contest to replace David Cameron. The remaining five Conservative MPs consist of three Cabinet ministers: Michael Gove, Theresa May and Stephen Crabb.

Aside the three Cabinet ministers, the Energy Minister, Andrea Leadsom and the Former defense secretary, Liam Fox are also competing for the Tory Leadership.

Think we missed something? Let us know down in the comments section.

Share Your Opinion, Write a Comment